Anthony R. Segura



Two Sugar Creek Center

77 Sugar Creek Center Blvd, Ste 565

Sugar Land, Fort Bend County,

Texas 77478

Practice Areas
Contact Us

15 days to save your license



Occupational Driver's License

Why You May Need an Occupational Driverís License

An arrest for DWI can lead to suspension of your driverís license under two circumstances 1) ALR suspension as a result of refusing to take or failing a breath / blood test; 2) consequence of criminal conviction for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

If you drive while your license is under suspension, you may be charged with Driving While License Suspended, a misdemeanor.  If you do so while on probation for your DWI offense, you risk having your probation revoked.  

What is an Occupational Driver's License?

An occupational driverís license is a restricted license issued by DPS which allows you to drive to and from work, school and in the performance of necessary household duties during the period of suspension.  The license may limit the times you are allowed to drive to specified hours, counties or roadways.  Alternatively, the court may authorize you to keep a log detailing your driving activities which can be inspected to ensure that your driving does not exceed what the judge has authorized.

How to Obtain an Occupational Driverís License

You must file a verified petition requesting the court to grant you an occupational driverís license.  The petition is filed in the county where the offense occurred or where you live if the suspension is as a result of an ALR suspension.  If your license is suspended following a conviction for DWI you must file in the court which ordered the suspension.  As this is actually a civil lawsuit, a filing fee (approximately $200.00) must be paid to the court clerk.  A short time after the filing, your lawyer can obtain a court date for the purpose of explaining to the court why it is necessary for you to drive to and from work, school, church and in the performance of essential household duties.  If the judge determines that you should be granted an occupational license, the judge will sign an order directing DPS to issue you an occupational license.  Following the hearing your attorney will obtain a certified copy of the order which will serve as your occupational driver's license for a period of 30 days.  The order must remain in your possession at all times while driving.

  • In order for DPS to issue the actual occupational license, which is a brown card, you or your lawyer must send DPS a certified copy of the order along with a reinstatement fee of $125.00, $10.00 occupational license fee, SR-37 (data sheet) and an SR-22.  At the end of the suspension period, DPS will return your driver's license to you.

Occupational License May Not Authorize Operation of Commercial Vehicle

An occupational driver's license does not allow a person to operate a commercial vehicle.  You may lose your livelihood.  It is therefore imperative that you contest the administrative suspension of your commercial driver's license.

Free Consultation

Contact Fort Bend County Occupational Driver License lawyer Anthony R. Segura to learn how he can help you get back on the road legally with an occupational driver's license.  Call 281-240-3941 to schedule a free consultation with an experienced Sugar Land occupational license lawyer.



Anthony R. Segura | 77 Sugar Creek Center Blvd, Suite 565 | Sugar Land, Fort Bend County, Texas 77478
Phone: 281-240-3941
Copyright © 2006. Anthony R. Segura. All rights reserved.